Table of Contents
Yes, you can take driving lessons for adults in Washington. Whether your desire to drive is personal, practical, or a combination of the two, driving is a valuable skill and an empowering one. To become a licensed driver in Washington as an adult, one must meet a few requirements.
If you have desired to take adult driving classes in Washington, here are some must-know insights.
Read Also: Ways to Sell Your Car and How to Write an Ad
Checklist of a Good Driving Program in Washington
When choosing a driver training program as an adult, do your due diligence by following these tips:
- Ensure the school and all instructors are licensed. Schools must display each instructor’s certificate on the wall, and every instructor should carry a wallet certificate.
- Compare the Washington state curriculum requirements with the school’s curriculum.
- Look for classroom instruction that uses appropriate visual aids and videos.
- Ensure there are enough instructors in the school to guide each adult at their own pace adequately.
- Confirm how the school keeps students’ attendance records for behind-the-wheel and classroom lessons. Ask the school to give you a copy of your training records to confirm the training.
Ensure the school has the best customer reviews, trust, satisfaction, and no complaints from previous students to prepare yourself.
What Does Driver Training Curriculum Look Like for Adults?
As an adult, the following items must be achieved before applying for the Washington state driver licensing test.
1. Attend at least 30 hours of classroom instructions. The maximum daily training should not exceed 2 hours.
2. A student must have at least 6 hours of practical driving lessons. The maximum practical training should not exceed 1 hour per day.
3. As an adult student, you must meet at least 1-hour observation behind the wheel.
Key Must-Understand Concepts in Driving Lessons for Adults
Driving lessons for adults in Washington are sensitive, calling for assertiveness in learning how to cooperate with law enforcement and other road users responsibly.
- Know different road users, including the vulnerable road users (pedestrians, cyclists, elderly, and young children) in the highway transportation system.
- Understand how Washington state laws and responsibilities governing road sharing work. All road users, such as pedestrians, trucks, motorcyclists, trains, horses, slow-moving equipment, etc., have certain rights of road usage that must be respected and adhered to.
- Understand state laws regarding responsibilities at the scene of an accident, including helping the injured.
- Learn Washington laws concerning active occupant restraints and open truck bed riding.
- Know how a driver should act when and if law enforcement officers stop.
- Be able to define and identify aggressive driving traits.
- Understand how to responsibly and safely transport cargo using a towing vehicle and safety chains.
Main Requirements to Become a Licensed Driver in Washington
- Be a resident of Washington, as your residence will appear on the driver’s license.
- Be at least 18 years and above.
- Complete an approved driver training course successfully. Make sure it is an approved course in the state of Washington. If you take and complete a course in a different state, then it must meet the minimum requirements of Washington state to be considered.
- Hold a Washington state instruction permit for a minimum of 6 months.
- Receive no traffic violations within six months before the license application.
- Free from any drug offense or alcohol abuse while holding the instruction permit.
As an adult, if you don’t have one of these, you can obtain WA State instruction permission by pre-applying online and passing a written knowledge exam.
How Do You Get Your First Driver’s License as an Adult in Washington?
1. After driving lessons, pass the knowledge test at the training test location.
2. Decide if you want an enhanced driver’s license (EDL) or a standard driver’s license. EDL is a new driver’s license that confirms your citizenship and identity in the USA.
3. Visit the driver licensing office along with proof of identity. Pass vision screening, decide if you want to be an organ donor, or register to vote and pay the fees.
4. Schedule the driver test at the training and test center.
5. Pass the driving test and get your license.
6. Keep the temporary license as you wait for the permanent one. The actual license is mailed within 7-10 business days.
Enroll in Driving Lessons for Adults
In Washington, if you are driving, having a license is mandatory. This ensures that people driving vehicles are adequately trained to avoid road accidents. Washington requires you to complete a graduated licensing program, be of age, and take specific tests. The driving lessons help students understand the road rules and gain a behind-the-wheel experience. If you are searching for driving lessons for adults in Washington, many places offer programs to suit your needs. Verify they have certified adult driver programs designed to give you the best skills.